What Do You Eat?

Good morning everyone! I hope you all had a fantastic weekend-I know that I did.

I went to California for the weekend with my dad-about 8 hours away from where I live. We left early Friday morning (my father and I) and came back yesterday. I wish we could have stayed longer but it was nice to have a mini-vacay. Most of my extended family live in Cali and I was born there so we go there often enough and stay with my grandmother. It’s a pretty long drive so I took a couple of Larabars, some raw crackers and water for the road. I decided to bring a book but couldn’t decide which one so I just brought two-Night Circus and City of Glass (I started and finished City of Glass on the trip and it was great). I can be such a nerd. :)

What Do You Eat?

That is a question I’ve been getting a lot since becoming a strict vegetarian/extremely close to vegan. The answer is: tons and tons of different foods. Another popular one is “How are you getting your protein?” And the same answer is appropriate.

I eat tons of different foods-fruits, vegetables, whole grains, beans/legumes and even the occasional treat (vegan cookies anyone?). I make different things like black bean burgers, sweet potato fries, cheese-less pizzas and other delicious things on a regular basis and I love that I can eat these things while still feeling great and even energized. Before when I ate meat and a lot of dairy I would feel run down and tired all of the time but this new plant based diet has proven beneficial for me.

It was a little harder on the trip because when we would stop for food or eat at my grandmother’s house I would have to ask what the ingredients were. Everyone was super nice and understanding which is a nice change from the restaurants where I live (we live in the food dark ages). I loved finding new foods that I could enjoy and spent way too much money at Trader Joe’s (we don’t have one where I live so I went to town). This trip was a foodie success!

Have a great Monday!

4 thoughts on “What Do You Eat?

Leave a Reply

