Cheat Days

Happy Saturday everyone!

I love Saturdays because I get to just chill with my family. Last night I went and saw a local band (Chikano) at one of our few local bars (my drink of choice? Water). It was way fun even though it was really loud (will my ears ever stop ringing??!!) and I didn’t feel like dancing. Water was my drink of choice and it was nice to just listen to some of our local talent.

Today my family and I went shopping and had to grab a treat at the Sweet Tooth Fairy. I haven’t eaten mine yet but it still looks delicious (I plan on splitting it with my mother).

Also I grabbed lunch at a local Mexican restaurant while we were out. I got a bean and cheese burrito with beans, rice and a churro because it was their special. I didn’t eat the rice and I only had one bite of the churro. This my friends, is what I call a “cheat day.”

My View on Cheat Days:

I don’t really like the term cheat days but prefer to think of them as well, part of the process. Today is Saturday and it is the one day this week where I have lifted some of my clean eating rules. Does this mean that I will eat a whole cheese pizza in one sitting? No. But a little Mexican food and a cupcake? Heck yes!

When I wasn’t eating for health like I am now, I was constantly dieting. I would deprive myself not only of junk foods but foods that were good for me too, all in the name of calories. I don’t do that anymore though and if I want a cupcake once a week, I will go for it. I now realize that I won’t ruin my diet just because I ate a cupcake or a slice of pizza or whatever. Its about moderation, nutrition and about life. I don’t want to live my life with absolutely no treats. That would just be boring and I am anything but boring (most of the time).

Now its time for me to read a little more Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and enjoy the rest of my Saturday.

Hope you all have a fabulous evening!

2 thoughts on “Cheat Days

  1. I’m right there with you. Just like eating ONE healthy meal every once in a while isn’t going to save your health, eating ONE bad thing every once in a while isn’t going to ruin it. It’s more about what you consistently and routinely eat, so I’m all about making exceptions for special occasions. 😉

    And I’ve found it helps to make healthier versions of whatever you happen to be craving too. I’m always craving desserts, and the other day when I wanted to make super gooey cinnamon rolls, we made fruit crepes instead and they were delicious. (You can see those on my blog! http://plantsonly.wordpress.com/2012/05/30/fruit-crepes-the-tastiest-vegan-dessert/.

    Keep up the good work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

